learning to say “yes”.

I ALMOST missed out on a pretty cool opportunity.

Recently, my PR class was challenged by a local radio station to create a “Gangnam Style” video that would be better than the one McMaster University made. I wasn’t crazy about the idea. I felt that none of us would have the time to make a good-quality video and to be completely honest I found the song super annoying. I decided to show up to the first meeting anyway just to see what it was all about, but I had already made up my mind that I would probably back out of the whole thing. I was convinced that the entire idea was going to be a bust.

To my surprise, there was a lot of excitement and good energy at the first meeting. Tons of ideas were flowing and I actually started to feel excited about it. I suddenly wanted to be a part of it and I decided that I could put my personal opinions aside about the song and jump into this creative project feet-first. I am in public relations and marketing, after all.

Then I did something bad. I missed a few of the meetings. It wasn’t by choice, but it happened. One meeting happened on a day that I didn’t have class. One meeting happened when my mom was in the city from out of town for her birthday and a couple meetings happened when I was so sick that I thought I was dying. I missed a lot of information and planning at those meetings. Before I knew it, I had no idea what was happening for the video. Suddenly I felt out of the loop and completely left out.

The group, which contained my good friends from class, would continue to meet and I never knew when or where they were meeting. Instead of me being upset that I was no longer involved in the project, I was upset that I was no longer able to hang out with my friends. They were meeting at lunch, after school, and everywhere in between. I felt like I was back in junior high again and I had been kicked out of the group of popular girls. I decided I was no longer going to be a part of the video.

After a few mini-tantrums at home and a (figurative) slap in the face from the love of my life, I realized that I was being a gigantic baby. I decided that the only way I could hang out with my friends again was to jump back into the project.

So I did. I put in a lot of effort to be a part of posting the flyers, social media promoting, and helping out with the filming. And it was SO FUN. I stopped worrying about being “part of the group” and put my efforts into the video.

I learned through this experience that I sometimes still have the mindset of a ten year old girl and that I need to stop being so freakin’ paranoid. As a twenty-something year old, I need to not take things so personally and look at the big picture. It was a big lesson to learn. But the biggest lesson I learned was that I need to say YES to certain things, or else I might really, really miss out on something spectacular.

So, now I’m going to start saying “Yes” more often.

XOXO
Chelsea

Leave a Reply

