how i know it’s true love.

love.jpgI’ve been in love a couple of times before. Those relationships didn’t succeed and I’m still not certain of the reasons why they failed.

But one thing I do know is that if those relationships had worked out, I wouldn’t have drank tequila on that summer night, asked for a piggy back ride, or been surprised by a kiss in the kitchen. I wouldn’t have fallen in love with Cal.

We were roommates at the time of the infamous kiss. As crazy as the idea was, we decided on taking a chance at a relationship. The odds were against us, but now we’re approaching our third year anniversary.

Throughout our relationship so far, we’ve dealt with things that would tear most relationships, or marriages, apart. Finances have been a major struggle and we’ve had to have constant communication and creative collaboration to survive. We’ve become pretty good at being honest with each other and discussing everything.

We’ve both dealt with anxiety and stress through a big chunk of our relationship. We’ve offered each other patience and understanding and always work together to get out of the rough patches.

Cal ruptured his spleen earlier in our relationship and there were moments where we didn’t know what his future held. Those were the scariest weeks of my entire life.

I lost one of my best friends just over a year ago. Cal was there for me through the entire thing and quietly held me me when there were no words to make it better.

Throughout these hard times, we have always found time to laugh. We laugh A LOT. We’ve come out of all of this stronger and more certain of how in love we are with each other.

This is how I know it’s true love. I tell him he’s my soul mate all the time and I think those words make him uncomfortable. But I believe it. I couldn’t ask for a better boyfriend and best friend.

This is why I’m thankful that my past relationships didn’t work out. They led me to that August night when our love began with the most perfect, tequila induced kiss. Who would’ve thought.

One thought on “how i know it’s true love.

Leave a Reply

