the art of persuasion.

persuasion.jpg

What has made you change your opinion of a public figure, organization or brand? Please give one example.

Does anyone remember Mike Jeffries? That loser CEO made me realize that I never wanted to buy Abercrombie & Fitch…EVER. Even though he’s since apologized, I will never step foot into one of his stores again after what he said.

Jeffries was stupid enough to say this:

 “In every school there are the cool and popular kids, and then there are the not-so-cool kids. Candidly, we go after the cool kids. We go after the attractive all-American kid with a great attitude and a lot of friends. A lot of people don’t belong [in our clothes], and they can’t belong. Are we exclusionary? Absolutely. Those companies that are in trouble are trying to target everybody: young, old, fat, skinny. But then you become totally vanilla. You don’t alienate anybody, but you don’t excite anybody, either.”

Disgusting. He only wants cool people to shop at his stores. Has he ever looked in the mirror? This is the best part of the whole thing. He looks like Gary Busey gone very wrong, if you can even imagine that.

What factors have influenced your decision to do or not do something. Please give one example.

It took me a LONG time to decide what to go to school for. I had dabbled in early childhood education, interior decorating, and human resources, but nothing ever seemed like the right fit. Public relations and marketing continued to come up as options, but for some reason I never felt like I would be good at either.

It wasn’t until I was at a crossroads in my life, and a friend’s encouraging words in December 2011, that I finally decided to go for it. I was working full-time at an organization with some great people, doing great things, but I never felt like it was where I should be. I wasn’t doing the work I felt like I was capable of doing, and it was making me miserable. I would come home and cry almost every night and I felt lost. I wondered if this was what life would always be like. Would I always be stuck in jobs that I didn’t like, for the sake of making money to survive? These thoughts were beyond depressing. I knew I needed to make a change. Then I went to one of my boyfriend’s family gatherings at Christmas time in 2011. His cousin’s girlfriend was there, who I hit it off with from the day we met. She started telling me about the school program she was in and really thought I would be a good fit for it. Little did she know that I was having a personal crisis and needed to find direction. The more she told me about this PR and marketing program, the more I knew I needed to take it. She 100% persuaded me to do it. And here I am now…30 school days away from graduation!

What has made you think differently about an issue. Please give one example.

I would have told you a week ago that I’d love to go to the Calgary Stampede one day because it looks like such a good ol’ fashioned, wholesome time. After last Tuesday’s class, I would say that I feel completely different about it. We did a case-study about the animal-cruelty PR issues that the Stampede deals with and it broke my heart.

I found out that many horses die at the Stampede, whether it’s from heart attacks due to the stress they are put under to race, or from being put down due to injuries. These poor horses are being forced under stress just to entertain the public. It’s a money-grab, and these horses are dying because of it. It made me so sad. I almost cried, in fact. That’s how I know something really bothers me. And I made the decision to never go to the Calgary Stampede because of it.

One thought on “the art of persuasion.

  1. Persuasion is very powerful thing. With the instantaneous two-way communication of social media, most of us find ourselves on both sides of it. It’s fascinating, but also scary at the same time. I’m glad I’m in this field.

Leave a Reply

