my future in PR?

path.jpg

As my studies come to a close, I have realized that I am most interested in preparing Public Relations campaigns for companies, whether it is for awareness, a new product launch, crises, or issues. I enjoy the creative aspect of PR and find personal satisfaction in coming up with strategies, tactics, and key messages.

I think my career will be informed by my new Public Relations knowledge because I have learned SO much about just communication in general. I just started managing a social media account and have already come across moments where my PR knowledge has come in handy when posting content and responding to comments appropriately. I also find my writing has improved quite a bit and I’ve gotten better at being clear, concise, and effective.

As much as I’ve enjoyed learning about Public Relations and earning my diploma, I’ve realized that my personality is probably a better fit for the marketing industry. My last two jobs dealt with some serious stuff (bankruptcies and child protection), which gave me a sense of fulfillment, but also a feeling of misery when I would come home. Dealing with other people’s serious issues every day at work weighed down on me because I tend to take things on personally. So, right now my goal is to not work somewhere that will make me feel sad every day. I feel that a Public Relations job is more structured and serious than a marketing job would be and may be more likely to be a job that leaves me feeling weighed down at the end of the day. PR involves a lot of problem solving that is nowhere near stress-free. The marketing industry is much more creative and more shallow, for lack of better words. I wouldn’t mind working somewhere that allows me to come up with marketing concepts for a makeup company, clothing brand, etc. Somewhere fun! It will still be hard work, but it wouldn’t involve seeing people at their weakest moments anymore or doing major damage control.

Don’t get me wrong though…I am NOT closing any doors! I am open to any /all opportunities and maybe my dream PR job is actually out there. Or maybe my dream marketing job will present itself to me. I have no idea what my future holds or what path I will end up taking, but I am excited to see where the next year takes me!

Leave a Reply

